Impulsive Inquiry

uncontrolled questioning of the world I perceive.

Unexpected friendship

2 Comments

I know that everyone always say that they have the greatest friends ever, but with me it is true. For serious, my friends are the most amazing, supportive, goofy, brilliant, wonderful (I could go on and on but I will get to the point) human beings that anyone in the history of the world could ever imagine. And now you have to believe it because you read it on the internet.

Today I am writing to recognize a friend I found through a random act of the universe.

I am talking about the person who inspired me to start a blog in the first place. The credit (or blame) for this creation goes to Michelle, mother to the triplets I used to nanny for, and a friend found in a very unexpected place. (Her blog is called Maple Leaf Kitchen)

Before beginning my job with the triplets (who I will call Jam, Roo, and Peanut) I had worked in preschools, day cares, and as a nanny, in two states and three countries. Most of my nanny positions were for twins, so I thought I knew how to juggle. Emphasis on the word THOUGHT.

What I didn’t take into account was not only would I be watching three babies (they were almost four months old when I started) but I would be spending 50 hours a week with their mother as well. Additionally, I was applying to grad school and adjusting to life after college. I thought I could handle it all.

I was wrong.

That year turned out to be one of the most challenging, frustrating, disheartening, and wonderful years of my life so far. By end of my time with their family I had:

  • Lost love
  • Found love
  • Moved out of my parents house
  • Applied to grad school
  • Learned how to feed a baby while jumping up and down
  • Got rejected from (most) grad schools
  • Had approximately 200 five o’clock dance parties
  • Decided not to go to grad school
  • Survived the loss of my grandfather
  • learned how to take three babies out at once
  • Reconnected with old friends
  • Made new friends
  • Ate a million humus, cheese and pickle sandwiches
  • Celebrated the babies 1st birthday

and found a friend in the most unusual place.

In my previous experiences as a nanny, I connected with the kids but not their parents. Except for one other wonderful exception, parents don’t usually encourage me to maintain contact with their families. Also, I was usually leaving to go back to school.

Luckily for me both Michelle and Alan opened their hearts and have continued to do so. Which I appreciate more than I could ever express. Also, if I had to cut off contact with my three loves cold turkey, I probably would have just shriveled up and died.

Instead I found inspiration and support. I figure, if someone has to spend 10 out of every 24 hours, 5 days a week with me, either one (or both) of us will end up dead, or, more optimistically, we will become friends.

And here we are both alive and kickin’ almost three years later.

It is way to late to make a long story short.

Michelle has been, and continues to be, an inspiration, role model, confidant, support system, editor, book recommender, teacher, cheerleader, and friend to me. I honestly can say, I don’t know how I would have gotten through the past few years without her.

And you have to remember, while doing all of this for me, she is one of the most amazing mothers I have ever seen.

For triplets.

Take that in for a second.

Really this post is a huge thank you to her and her entire family all of whom I love. (Even Rich :D)

So I leave you with this ultimate cuteness:

Peanut, Roo and Jam

Then:                                                         and                                  Now:

381016_2347590100844_814739282_n 2014-03-17 16.35.28 copy

 

Edit: 3/31/14: I would like to add that Michelle received an honorable mention in the ‘Family and imperfection’ writing contest over at Five Kids is A Lot of Kids. Follow the  link to read her amazing writing!

Edit: 12/6/15: Sometimes I feel like this just isn’t written well enough to express how much I love Michelle (and of course the rest of the family), or how much I value her presence in my life and her support, or how freaking awesome she truly is. Honestly. I want to be her when I grow up.

2 thoughts on “Unexpected friendship

  1. Abbie . . . this was an amazing way to honor Michelle. I know that Michelle, Alan, and the triplets love you as much as you love them. You are an amazing person yourself, and I’m so glad that Neal and I got to know you! Love ya! Betty Jo(Ooma)

Leave a Reply

